Skip to main content

Book a Flight

Children: age 2-11, Infants: age 0-1

Book a holiday

Children: age 2-11, Infants: age 0-1

Book a hotel

Children: age 2-11, Infants: age 0-1
Language:
German
Currency:
Swiss Franc
Time Zone:
GMT +1 hour (GMT +2 hours in summer)
Flight Time:
2 hours
Airport Code:
BSL
Holiday Type:
City Break / Winter Sports

12 Month Weather

Loading weather...
° average maximum temperature ° average minimum temperature
A delightfully framed city that is set on the banks of the Rhine, compare flights from Manchester to Basel and look forward to touching down in northwest Switzerland. Lying close to the borders with France and Germany, you can fly to Basel in an hour and 45 minutes. There is usually good availability with direct services, but if you need to take a connecting flight then you'll likely stop at a German city such as

Cheap Flights from Manchester to Basel

Basel
Thu 14 September 2017 -
returning on Wed 20 September 2017
from£52
easyJet
Basel
Mon 13 November 2017 -
returning on Mon 27 November 2017
from£53
easyJet
Basel
Sat 16 September 2017 -
returning on Thu 21 September 2017
from£57
easyJet
Basel
Wed 06 September 2017 -
returning on Sat 09 September 2017
from£58
easyJet
Basel
Mon 27 November 2017 -
returning on Fri 01 December 2017
from£61
easyJet
Basel
Tue 03 October 2017 -
returning on Mon 16 October 2017
from£93
easyJet
Basel
Sun 17 September 2017 -
returning on Sat 30 September 2017
from£135
easyJet
Basel
Fri 10 November 2017 -
returning on Sun 19 November 2017
from£153
British Airways
Basel
Fri 24 November 2017 -
returning on Tue 28 November 2017
from£153
British Airways
Mulhouse / Basel
Sun 29 October 2017 -
returning on Wed 01 November 2017
from£361
Air France
Flights from Manchester to Basel take just an hour and three quarters. Extremely low fares can be found by booking early enough, which should also negate the need for a connecting flight. Should a stopover be required to fly from Manchester to Basel on your preferred dates, a major European city such as Amsterdam, Brussels or Frankfurt will be the likely destination. EuroAirport Basel Mulhouse Freiburg, to use its proper title, is located in the heart of Western Europe. It lies on the French-Swiss border, only a couple of miles northwest of Basel itself, while Mulhouse in France is just 12 miles away, and Freiburg is less than 30 miles northeast. As one of the world’s few international airports that’s jointly operated by two countries, the airport lies principally in France, although there is a 1.6 mile customs road that leads to a Swiss customs area, connected to Basel. The Line 50 bus route to Basel’s main railway station Bahnhof SBB takes around 20 minutes, stopping at Kannenfeldplatz and Frachthalle en route. There’s no direct rail service into the centre of Basel, but from the train station, tram line no. 2 heads into the downtown area and continues on to the Badischer Bahnhof, which is Basel’s German railway station. Taking a taxi to the city centre should cost in the region of 30 pounds, with companies such as Airport Taxi, Taxi am EuroAirport and Taxi-Zentrale AG Basel all providing services. Car hire firms Avis, Budget, Europcar, Thrifty and Sixt all operate from Basel airport.